What Can Happen if You Do Not Have Proper Auto Insurance in Tennessee?

In Tennessee, it is illegal to drive without auto insurance or to have less than the minimum required amount of auto insurance. An easy way to avoid any legal issues is to have the right amount of auto insurance. However, there are still some people in Collierville, TN that do not even have the state minimum required by law. Here at Brock and Poole Insurance Agency, we want to make sure everyone has the proper amount. If you don’t, these are some of the things that can happen to you. 

There are different penalties based on if you do not have the right insurance or if you fail to provide proof in Tennessee. If you do not have the right amount of insurance, you can get fined up to $300. If that wasn’t enough, you will also have your driver’s license and registration suspended until you can provide proof of having the right amount of coverage in place. Before they will be reinstated, you will even have to take the driver’s license examination again. Not only will you have the fee mentioned before but you will have to pay a $65 restoration fee and a $50 fee to the commissioner of safety. Lastly, you will have to supply the SR-22 certificate to your insurance company for 3 years and that can greatly increase your insurance costs. 

If you want to make sure that you have the proper amount of auto insurance for Tennessee, make sure you reach out to us here at Brock and Poole Insurance Agency, serving Collierville, TN. We can take a look at your current policy to make sure you have the right amount of coverage. We can also get you a brand new policy if you need something different or do not have auto insurance at all. Contact us today to get your free quote and insurance.