If you drive in the state of Tennessee, you must have a minimum amount of auto insurance, and you need to provide proof that you have a policy in place. You need to at least have liability coverage to be legally insured, but there are other options available if you want to pay for additional coverage.
State Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
If you’re a resident of Tennessee, then you must have a minimum amount of liability insurance that will pay for any injury-related costs. These include:
• At least $25,000 for every injury or death during an accident
• At least $50,000 for all injuries or deaths that have resulted from an accident
• At least $15,000 in property damage coverage for every accident
There are additional coverage options available, so it may be advisable to pay the extra cost to be protected against any additional liabilities. Be sure to talk to someone at Brock and Poole Insurance Agency in Collierville, TN to find out what sort of options you have available. We would be happy to discuss your auto insurance needs, and we can find a plan that will meet your needs and fit your budget.
Providing Proof of Insurance in the State of Tennessee
Aside from having an active insurance policy that meets state required standards, you must have proof that you have a policy in place, and you must present it to a law enforcement if you’ve been pulled over. You must also provide it if you’ve been involved in an accident that you’re required to report. According to the state of Tennessee, the following documents are considered to be valid proofs of insurance:
• Insurance ID card
• Insurance binder
• Policy declaration page
If you aren’t sure about what you need to provide proof of insurance according to Tennessee State Law, then you need to talk to an agent at Brock and Poole Insurance Agency. We’ve provided for the insurance needs to Collierville, TN for a long time, and we can answer any questions that you may have about your auto insurance policy.